Big day today! So I will make the food part quick!
For breakfast today I had the leftover pumpkin french toast with a load of fruit and peppermint tea. I love the pumpkin french toast on the second day, over the first actually. They taste even better re-heated!
Lunch was a small serving of the quinoa-lentil-bean salad from yesterday.
For dinner I made a semi-Mexican style rice. Influenced by my craving for Mexican food from yesterday of course! It was a simple rice (cooked in a celery/carrot broth), with black beans, carrots, celery and olives. I seasoned this with basil, garlic, salt and EVOO. I thought the flavour was pretty good, however, my sisters tried the rice and told me it tasted like pepperoni. WHAT? LOL. How did I manage that?! At least it was just the seasoning and not the meat itself. Thankfully. But now I keep thinking about it! Haha.
I had a treat today! I visited my ND and I can re-introduce some fruits and vegetables into my diet that we had cut out initially! (Ex. bananas, strawberries, bell peppers, mushrooms, melon). The way that they are introduced is very interesting. I have to introduce them one at a time, and eat A LOT of the one thing over a 3-day period. Then document what I'm feeling as I introduce the item back into my system. If I feel well, I continue to eat the fruit/veggie, if I do not feel well, then I discontinue eating the fruit/veggie, wait 3-days and try a new fruit/veggie. So fascinating! Our bodies are awesome.
So today, I tried plantains. Very exciting! I pan fried them in ghee. They were delicious. For the next three days I will eat a lot of bananas/plantains!
Confessions:
The plantains upset my stomach (assuming because I haven't had anything sugary/starchy in 28 days, will try again tomorrow). And I don't want to eat pepperoni rice.




Leave a Reply.