I'm going to blow your mind with a bunch of recipes today!
For breakfast I perfected the dollar size-rice-crepes from day 9! I share the recipe below - I kept them the dollar size because I enjoy the finger food idea. As you can see, I had these with a bit of apple butter, and a TON of fruit! Blackberries are by far my favourite. A small cup of peppermint fennel rose tea, and I had set the pace for my day!
Lunch was a couple of those quinoa-lentil-sweet potato patties from last night - but I made a cucumber/avocado/celery/pomegranate "salsa" if you will, as the garnish. SO GOOD. Pomegranate? You ask. Yes. It added a nice punch to each bite!
For dinner I made ROTI! I realized I was missing it, and set out to figure out how to make roti, and saag (my favourite Indian dish which is spinach and broccoli - or sometimes rapini - mashed up with spices). I share the recipes for both the buckwheat roti, AND the saag below!
Today I snacked on...no. I didn't snack today. Just a LOT of water! Lots.
Confessions:
I don't eat Indian food often. But, the roti and saag today, blew my mind. It tasted NEARLY as good as the other stuff. Haha. Now I'm good to not eat Indian food for another month I think! Got my fill.

Mini Rice Crepes

1/2 cup rice flour
1/2 cup quinoa milk (or other non-dairy milk)
1 flax egg (1tbsp flax - 2 tbsp water, mix and let sit for 10 mins)
1/2 vanilla bean (or 1 tsp vanilla)

Heat the griddle or pan to medium-high. Use a light coating of olive oil. Drop 1/8 cup batter onto the griddle, wait until the top of the crepe looks dry and the edges are slightly browned. Flip and cook for another minute or so. That's all! You're done! So simple. Repeat with the remaining batter. Makes about 10 mini rice crepes. Top with your favourite toppings (I love the apple butter and berries, others might like nutella and strawberries...) Enjoy!

Saag

4 cups baby spinach - washed
1 bunch broccoli - chopped and washed
1/2 red onion
1 tbsp ghee
2 cups water
salt, garlic to taste

Place spinach, broccoli, and a sprinkle of salt into a deep pot, add 2 cups of water and bring to a boil on high heat. Once boiled, turn heat to medium and let boil for 30 minutes, stirring every ten minutes. In the meantime, chop the onion, and caramelize in a small frying pan with ghee on the stove top. Once the spinach mix is done (broccoli should be super tender), remove from heat and drain any excess water that is left. Using a potato masher, mash the broccoli and spinach in the pot until they become a paste. Add the onions, use salt and garlic powder to taste. Makes about 2 cups saag. Enjoy!

Buckwheat Roti (adapted from HappyGut)

1 cup buckwheat flour
1/2 tsp salt
2 tbsp olive oil
1/2 cup warm water
1/4 cup finely chopped onion
handful coriander leaves
additional buckwheat flour

In a mixing bowl, mix flour and salt well. Add oil and mix until all lumps are gone. Add water a little at a time to form a soft dough ball. Kneed dough for a few minutes, adding a little more water (a little at a time) if necessary. Add in the coriander leaves and onion, knead again to distribute evenly. Cover dough and let sit for about 10 mins.
Heat non-stick skillet or Indian tava on stovetop at medium heat. Divide dough into golf ball size balls. Dip one ball into the additional flour to coat and roll it out into a thin disc with a rolling pin on a flat surface. Keep dipping the roti into the dry flour to prevent it from sticking to the rolling surface.
Rub off excess flour from the roti and place it onto the hot skillet/tava. Flip to the other side once you see bubbles appear on the surface (about 1 minute). Allow it to cook for 10-15 seconds. Meanwhile, turn the next stovetop on high heat, gently pick up roti with tongs, and place on the open range. The roti may or may not balloon up - just let it brown a bit more on both sides here. Smear with ghee and transfer immediately to insulated container to keep warm. Repeat. Serve immediately. Makes approximately 8 small rotis. Enjoy!



Leave a Reply.